Kay Llewellyn, who has been secretary to the principal at Dixieland Elementary School for 30 years, was named Polk County’s 2020 school-related employee of the year.

“She is the first to offer help to those in need, whether it’s by giving a hug and encouraging word, or by collecting blankets for the homeless,” according to a news release announcing the honor. “Llewellyn is more comfortable as a behind-the-scenes person, and will quietly organize donations to help whomever is in need.”

THE LEDGER: The modest “Miss Kay” missed the ceremony; her first granddaughter was born the same day.

 Other employees from Lakeland schools among the seven finalists for the honor:

  • Susan Cruz, Winston Academy of Engineering, terminal operator
  • Zena Moody, Edgar L. Padgett Elementary, finance secretary

In addition, two teachers from Lakeland schools were among the seven finalists for Polk teacher of the year. They are:

  • Laura Blanchette, Southwest Middle, ESE teacher
  • Erin Lavelle, Lawton Chiles Middle Academy, English teacher

Polk’s teacher of the year is Dr. Vincent M. Miller II, a math teacher at Winter Haven High.

The honors were announced at a banquet Thursday night.

SEND CORRECTIONS, questions, feedback or news tips: newstips@lkldnow.com


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Barry Friedman founded Lkldnow.com in 2015 as the culmination of a career in print and digital journalism. Since 1982, he has used the tools of reporting, editing and content curation to help people in Lakeland understand their community better.

Leave a comment

Your Thoughts On This? (Comments are moderated; first and last name are required.)